ILOA Founders Meeting Statement – 7 November 2007
Waikoloa, Hawai‘i

The primary purpose of the International Lunar Observatory (ILO) is to expand human understanding of the cosmos through observation from our Moon. The primary purpose of the International Lunar Observatory Association (ILOA) is to operate the ILO at the South Pole of the Moon in 2010 and support a Human Service Mission to the ILO as soon as possible.

The ILOA is established as a not-for-profit 501c3 organization in State of Hawai‘i comprising: Four officers:

  • First Director: Steve Durst
  • Executive Director: Charles Bohannan
  • Financial Director: Joseph Sulla
  • Cultural Director: Leilehua Yuen
  • 15 invited Directors: Kimo Pihana, Robert Richards, UR Rao, Paul Lowman, Christian Veillet, Yuki Takahashi, David Schrunk, Manny Pimenta, Jean-Luc Josset, Maohai Huang, SpaceDev Representative, Steve Durst, Charles Bohannan, Joseph Sulla, Leilehua Yuen
  • (Invited) Honorary Director: Commander John Young
  • Committees: Executive, Finance, Science and Technology, Media and Communications
  • Honorary Astrophysics Director: UR Rao
  • Chief Scientist: Paul Lowman
  • ILOA Special Support: Jason Ventura,Michelle Gonella, Diana Lu

From November 2007, ILOA will actively pursue:

  • Strategic partnerships with SpaceDev and Excalibur Crescent Moon to realize the ILO in the most effective and economical way
  • Formalizing the organization and legal structure, by-laws and confirmation of ILOA Directors
  • Selection of a Chief Financial Officer (CFO) to assist with a viable business plan and financing strategy
  • Establishing the ILO science and communications requirements and instrumentation via the Science and Technology Committee, with preliminary recommendations for: UV astronomy for sky survey; VLF, submillimeter and optical astronomy; 1st light Galactic Center imaging
  • Strategic partnerships with the State of Hawai‘i to support Hawai‘i space, astro and lunar achievements, culminating at the ILC2009 or 2010 in Waikoloa
  • A Board of Directors meeting in June 2008 in Vancouver, Canada